Sky at evening

This sequence of poems was inspired by the yesterday’s cloud pictures. You can see them here.

If this rhyming scheme has a name I’d love to know what it is ๐Ÿ™‚

Night creeps,

Seeps through veils of blue,

You watch white wisps flow,

Blow across fading sky,

Die in the darkening west,

Rest.

*

Sun sinks,

Inks in the night,

Light from stars falls,

Palls in moonbeams,

Dreams unfold,

Gold and silver apples,

Dapples of light and shade,

Fade.

*

Evening sky darkens,

Harkens the ear to the song,

Long and sweet of the thrush.

Hush the earth, the rustling leaves,

Weaves its twilight patterns spangled,

Tangled in your hair, the day dies,

Lies in shadowy tatters deep,

Sleep.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

15 thoughts on “Sky at evening”

  1. Jane. I think your poem is one of your best ones. I love it. You use slant rhyme beautiful – flow/blow, rest/west, etc, and you use alliteration very well (I think it’s called this) ‘watch white wisps’.

  2. I love what you’ve done with the rhyming sounds. Gives it a little catch, a syncopated feeling as the ear dwells on the repeated sound with each new line.

Leave a comment