Poetry challenge #10: image prompt

Images of stars and galaxies are incredibly beautiful and an endless source of inspiration. I found this picture, entitled Diamonds in space, among the NASA images and thought I’d use it as this week’s poetry prompt.

Diamondsinspace

Use whatever form you find most appropriate, haiku, micropoetry, a complex rhyming form, prose poem, shape poem or anything else you can think of.

I’ve used this image to illustrate a microfiction piece for the Secret Keeper’s challenge which I’ll post later.

Get creating and post your links here. Take your time—you have a whole week.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

24 thoughts on “Poetry challenge #10: image prompt”

  1. Thank you for another challenging challenge, and, once again, a fine example.
    Mine reply is titled Worlds in Collision:

    Worlds in collision
    a vision unwelcome
    yet sorely needed

    Compromise ceded
    impeded by circumstance
    chance no longer a factor

    Stagnation, starvation
    for any emotion
    apart from frustration

    Needs no longer shared
    pared until disparate
    separate in identity

    A perfect storm in
    the form of silence
    as two become none

    When all is undone in
    the final fission of
    worlds in collision

    https://rivrvlogr.wordpress.com/2015/12/16/worlds-in-collision/

  2. Hi Jane. I enjoyed this prompt. I considered digging into my imagination, but the literal, curious side of me wanted to know more about the image. So I looked up the science story and ended up with 3 small poems, one of which is another S poem. I’ll unleash them tomorrow morning while I am sleeping, and if all goes well, the link should land here. 🙂 Thanks, this was fun.

      1. Yes, the title definitely shaped it. Diamonds in the sky…shows up in songs fairly often… it’s imagination entering reality.

Leave a comment