The day is dying

The NaPoWriMo theme today is couples, things in pairs or halves. Since this theme fits the cleave poetry form, and I love cleave poems, I don’t need a better excuse to post this one.

If you’re not familiar with this form, a cleave poem is in two halves, each of which can be read as a separate, and preferably totally different poem, but read together they form a third poem.

Niko_Pirosmani._A_Fox_in_a_Moon_Night._Oil_on_oilcloth._State_Art_Museum_of_Georgia,_Tbilisi,_Georgia

The day is dying/  the dog fox said

Stars palely glittering/  the moon will be dark

The sun has set /  time for hunting

In dark corners/  fat mice scurrying

Shadows lengthen /  beneath cool branches

The brooding silence breaks/  ghost owl calls

Fear echoing through lonely rooms/  the dog fox answers

A dark voice from ancient times /  Come, the night is waiting.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

52 thoughts on “The day is dying”

  1. Pingback: Day Sixteen
      1. You still can. I made it the weekly poetry challenge a couple of weeks ago and I was amazed at how many people worried away at it until they got a poem they were pleased with. I’ll probably give it another spin.

  2. This is great! A magical depiction of nighttime. I laud your success with the cleave form; it was the perfect response to the prompt! I’ve only tried to write cleave poems once or twice and have been thoroughly unsuccessful, so to see one come together so beautifully is quite impressive!

    1. I’m glad you liked the result 🙂 I wrote the first line and let it go from there. Turned itself into a cleave poem. Sometimes it works, more often than not, it doesn’t. Keep trying and the magic will happen 🙂

  3. Very creative and clever response to a prompt about doubles! Now, you’ve got me interested in Cleave poems, as well. Looks very challenging in terms of getting it to flow naturally, although you seem to do so effortlessly.

    1. It twists your brain in knots! But the result is worth it, I think. Some people write two separate poems and stick them together. That doesn’t work for me, I have to tease the whole thing out line by line.

Leave a Reply

