#writephoto: The Island

This is inspired by Sue Vincent’s Thursday photo prompt.

photoprompt-30-june

So many years have rolled by, but the memories are still as bright, the pain as sharp. Perhaps I shouldn’t come here and gaze across the sea to the pale grey hump on the horizon. Only on a fair day can I see it through the cloud and sea mists, but always I know it is there.

The sea is never the same, sometimes smooth and inviting, and I kid myself that I could cross it if only I had a boat. Other times, the waves crash angrily on the rocks that rise like the teeth of a trap, encircling the shore, and my half-formed plans scatter like drifting foam. Even when the storm rages, I cannot keep away, though I see nothing but the fury of the sky and the ocean barring my way.

There is no hope for me. I will never shake off the chains of love and longing. One day, my children may forget for me, and learn to live in peace with this place. But my lot is that of the exile, to gaze from afar at the unattainable—the green hills of home.

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

15 thoughts on “#writephoto: The Island”

      1. Well, it’s not that much fun, so if they don’t, good for them, but then on the other hand, they are missing that feeling of coming home, which is so joyful to experience.

      2. Yet they are people who are very attached to place. It’s strange that linguistically they don’t have a ‘home.’ That said, they do have the same expression as the Italians, the idea of the ‘pays’, the land they come from. Maybe the collective familiar ‘pays’ is more important than the individual four walls and a roof;

  1. One of the anthems of the Québécoise is Gilles Vigneault’s haunting “Mon Pays” a beautiful song about “home,” Quebec, home as a “country/province”
    Haunting story.

    1. The only song of Nougaro’s that I ever liked is ‘Toulouse’ because we had strong attaches there. The notion of ‘mon pays’ is still strong here, I think, even if people are maybe readier to run down their home patch more than they would have done in the past.

  2. Must admit I can’t remember actually being homesick as such, even when I moved away.
    I tend more to miss the people I care about, either that or I haven’t found the right ‘home’ yet to miss.

    1. Some people don’t ever feel an attachment to ‘place’. Maybe it depends on the reasons for being in that place at all. My husband doesn’t feel a particular attachment to the place where he was born, probably because it could just as easily have been somewhere else. His family hadn’t been there long, and he had no other family there.

  3. Beautiful writing. I’ve always wanted that sort of attachment to a place, but I’ve not yet found the place. Maybe I’m not wired for it either!

    1. It possibly needs exile to work out what it is that draws us ‘home’. If you choose every place you move to, there’s no notion of compulsion, it’s part of your ‘dream’. If, on the other hand, you’ve been forced to leave a place that you’ve always thought of as home, stories grow up around it and it attains a mystical status, rightly or wrongly.

Leave a Reply

