The vixen searches for her mate

And another Minute Poem for the Daily Post prompt: Forbidden.

Franz_Marc_-_Foxes

You must not turn your back, he said,

Or bow your head,

For wolves will snap,

Hunters entrap.

 

Keep to the shadows, learn to hide,

To slip and glide.

The gentle night

Will see you right.

 

And so I walk where I should not,

A slow dog trot

Among the trees,

The silent breeze.

 

For at the end of this dark lane,

An end to pain.

I’ll meet you there

If you but dare.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

10 thoughts on “The vixen searches for her mate”

    1. When I read the examples on shadow poetry, I didn’t get a great sense of the rhythm, but you’re right, it should have that, like a song. And you, Marc painted beautiful pictures 🙂

Leave a Reply

