I turn my gaze from tree to sky

For the Secret Keeper’s writing prompt. This week’s words are

OWN | TURN | SHINE | TREE | STAR

Photo ©Michael J. Bennett

1024px-Night_Sky_Stars_Trees_02

I turn my gaze from tree to sky

Where stars look down from dead of night,

I own I thought to find you there,

Picked out in light, your face ashine,

With that soft look I know so well.

But branches wave before my eyes,

Trapping starlight in their green nets,

Your trail lost in the sky’s dark waves,

Sailed away on a comet’s tail.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

One thought on “I turn my gaze from tree to sky”

Leave a Reply

