TIME TEMPERED

I do like this poem with its rippling memories.

Deuxiemepeau; Picturing Poetry by Damien B. Donnelly

IMG_1493Retrograde ripples
swim me back to days
when a certain light could cut
the shadows in a single movement,
when your touch was like cool water
poured over feverish flesh below orange
walls that watched us sinking onto a single soul.


Terracotta tempered
with summer shadows
as streets twist and turn,
as I twist and turn and burn,
even in the shade, with shadows
and shades of you and those days
now reduced to simply recessive ripples
slouching towards the bottom of a city sinking.

All Words and Photographs by Damien B. Donnelly

Photograph taken in Venice, Italy

View original post

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

Leave a Reply

