Microfiction challenge #5: The Door

You might like to use this week’s image to inspire a completely new story, with a word count I’ll leave to your discretion, but try to keep it micro please πŸ™‚ You can also carry on the story you started last week with the painting (La Porte by Henri Duhem) to inspire the next episode. I chose this painting at random out of a dozen or so images I’d picked out as writing prompts, so I’m crossing fingers it works as a follow on toΒ  last week.

Post the link to your story in the comments and do say if you’re inviting a critique from the readers.

810px-Henri_DUHEM_-_La_porte_HST

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

51 thoughts on “Microfiction challenge #5: The Door”

  1. Thanks for the reminder about asking for critiquing. I keep forgetting! I will put up a post it note to that affect.
    This proves interesting, I could rescue the earlier narrator from the bracknell rockery, have a goal — the gate; send Dr. Teagarten in or out the door, or start something new or completely stand alone. The cogs shall term.

    1. At a technical level, I couldn’t fault it. As a story, religious themes don’t do it for me, but it’s purely subjective and doesn’t detract from your attractive use of language and metaphor.

      1. We don’t all have the same spiritual beliefs, but that doesn’t matter, as long as we don’t inflict them on other people πŸ™‚ You write good prose, and that’s all that matters here πŸ™‚

      2. Then it’s an admirable one. If there’s one thing that gets up my nose it’s the jehovahs and Mormons who do the door to door with their pamphlets and their subscription forms!

    1. I’m sitting at the dining table surrounded by boxes that need sorting through, rubbish from the cellar and the shed, a dog, bags and boxes waiting to be filled… A few minutes reading stories is very welcome πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

