Star rider

Riddaren_rider_by_John_Bauer_1914

You wanted a treasure to hold,

Not one that’s sold,

Found on the beach,

One out of reach.

 

I saw what to give in your eyes,

A worthy prize,

Shining so bright,

In deep, dark night.

 

I leapt skyward on my dream mount,

Stars beyond count,

Which one is ours

Of night’s flowers?

 

The star glitter falls in my hand,

Red firebrand,

Straight to your heart,

Love’s heav’nly dart.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

4 thoughts on “Star rider”

Leave a Reply

