Microfiction challenge #6:The child

The theme word this week is

loneliness

The image, by Else Berg could prompt a new chapter in your ongoing story or it could be a completely new one. If you really can’t see how it could fit into the story you have imagined, put it on hiatus. The real challenge would, of course, be to make the story take a turn that does fit this image in. There’s tremendous pathos in the painting, the child surrounded by toys, yet with such sadness in his eyes. I know my children hated being put in a pen and spent most of their time in it trying to climb out or tunnel under it. Could that be the explanation, or is there some more profound unhappiness?  Looking forward to seeing what you make of this one.

As usual, please post the link to your story in the comments before next Thursday. Happy writing!

Else_Berg_Jongen_met_speelgoeddieren

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

31 thoughts on “Microfiction challenge #6:The child”

  1. Well, Stella and I are still racing along, trying to work out what it’s all about. I found this image rather disturbing, and I have quite a worrying back story to this episode all worked out in my head…
    https://fmmewritespoems.wordpress.com/2016/07/22/stella-morris-investigates-micro-fiction-for-jane-dougherty-episode-3
    Please feel free to get your red pen out. Apologies in advance for any dangling whatnots. Thank you for an interesting prompt, that has taken both me and Stella in an unexpected direction…

Leave a Reply

