Two new reviews for Abomination!

abomination_exlarge

I discovered this morning that Abomination has two new reviews! This is the first one, more than a month old—shows how much I keep my eye on the ball.

Enjoyably gritty evocation of a post-apocalyptic world, 20 Jun. 2016
This review is from: Abomination (The Pathfinders Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. It was a great setup. I’m always fascinated by these “lights-out” scenarios. And with its gritty evocation of a not-too-unlikely future, I think the Pathfinders series is ready to take its place in the canon alongside the Hunger Games and Insurgent series.

Having it set in France was also an interesting twist as most of these kinds of books are American-based (although I did wonder about the lack of French speakers in the post-apocalyptic world later on!). The two main characters, Carla and Tully, were likeable and smart and, as a previous reviewer has said, very “human” and believable as imperfect and somewhat idealistic teens.

[Plotspoiler warning!!]. Once they arrive through the wormhole, the evocation of the place was well-drawn and chilling. Again, great characters. I imagined the tribe leader “Ace” as a young Axl Rose – sullen, whiny, but full of power and menace. The action moved nicely along to a conclusion, giving us some good insights into the life of the tribe in the world-after-the-Abomination. However, I got a tad confused in the final few chapters. There is a lot here – time and/or interdimensional travel, shapeshifters or zombies, a power-hungry Dark Lord type called The Burned Man, all the different renegade tribes with their group- and gender politics, mutant beasts, all overlaid with a religious symbolism mentioning the four horsemen of the Apocalypse. I would have liked a bit more explanation of how the Burned Man and general “evil” came about and/or how it manifested itself. I was also unsure who the Eblis character actually was (They said it was Jack earlier but he seems unaware of it. Perhaps it is Carla? Maybe this was deliberately left murky) I expect all this will be forthcoming in the next book, which I look forward to reading.

Disclosure: I received a free copy of Abomination in return for a fair and honest review.


And the second, just posted, is this one from Sacha. So flattering I’m the colour of a traffic stop light.

Beautiful, Gory, and descriptively stunning., 27 July 2016
This review is from: Abomination: Volume 1 (The Pathfinders) (Paperback)
Doughty is a master weaver of apocalyptic settings. Her world is hauntingly realistic. Her story is not for the faint of heart, you can tell that Dougherty would slay any red-eyed hell demon that dared cross her path. If you love descriptively stunning books, this is for you. Her style is a rich poetic prose and yet flows with the ease of any other YA novel. Personally, I feel it’s right at the upper end of Young Adult, if not New Adult with it’s frequent juicy language and beautifully raw-gore descriptions. I loved it. It unsettled me and made me uncomfortable in all the right places. HIGHLY recommended.


Thanks a million to both of you. If I knew who you were, Lilac Hell, I’d send you personalized big hugs. Sacha would get them anyway.
If these reviews tempt you to read Abomination, give in to your primal urge and buy it now. All three volumes are available so you don’t have to wait any longer than the press of a button to find out who, if anyone is Eblis Azazel and what, if anything, does it matter.


Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

22 thoughts on “Two new reviews for Abomination!”

      1. This makes me smile. Of course self-doubt is part of the creative condition so you are allowed a little of that. But this is a day for celebration and I raise a glass to your talent from Cantal 🍾

Leave a Reply

