Microfiction challenge Rainbow: the entries

A more peaceful, hopeful painting would be hard to find, but thankfully, we didn’t all see the scene as utter boring heaven.

I’m almost certain Sarah sent an entry but posted it in the wrong place and I can’t find it. Maybe if she looks in she can point me in the right direction.

Thanks to you all for the wonderful pieces of prose you send in. There’ll be another prompt tomorrow, so see you then.

I’m adding Merril’s at the top as I missed it out when I prepared the post yesterday. I could have sworn it wasn’t there then…But I’d commented on it and very much enjoyed it. The Sound of Music again…

From Rainbows: Microfiction | Yesterday and today: Merril’s historical musings

 

Louise’s story might be less dark and tragic than usual, but it’s just as dramatic.

Immortal Rainbow โ€“ Fantasy Raconteur

 

Ken’s story is an example of what I was hinting at in the introโ€”since when have rainbows been associated only with joy and happiness?

A Thing of the Past | rivrvlogr

 

Phylor with the ghost of Maria from The Sound of Music? She’s been cropping up everywhere ๐Ÿ™‚

Jane Doughertyโ€™s Microfiction #9: the rainbow โ€“ Phylor’s Blog

 

Michael’s story, while light-hearted, is I suspect one of his cherished dreams ๐Ÿ™‚

Microfiction challenge #9:ย Rainbow | Morpethroad

 

Geoff’s story wouldn’t be allowed under many regimes, but this is my blog so I’ll take the risk, and in case of legal problems, yes, I’ll happily pass on his address.

Clash of Egos #microfiction #shortstory | TanGental

 

Leara’s story like Michael’s is a retelling of a timeless myth.

The Treasure At The End Of The Rainbow โ€“ LearaWrites

 

Freya is a first-time participant with a dramatic story that packs a punch with a surprising twist in the tail.

Look up! Microfiction Challenge #9 โ€“ Rainbow | Freya Writesโ€ฆ

 

Kat’s story is going strong, and with the skill of a true storyteller she slips in the prompt image as a sideline and gets back to the meat of what she had in mind for this episode.

Seasoning โ€“ Part 6 | like mercury colliding…

 

Kerfe’s mini story this week is the introduction to a gallery of thoughts and images with a mysterious common theme.

https://methodtwomadness.wordpress.com/2016/08/17/junk-mail-art-rainbow/

 

Billโ€”last in so the eerie white space doesn’t matter. I think he should really get a dog.

Bonnie

 

 

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

21 thoughts on “Microfiction challenge Rainbow: the entries”

  1. Thank you for looking, Jane. I was out in the wilds of Connemara last week, with very dodgy internet access and too many people around, so I didn’t manage to sit down and do a piece. I don’t think I posted the piece i did the week before for the same reasons. The summer holidays are always a bit chaotic for me. Hoping to be back in a writing routine soon…

    1. I’m sorry Merril! I prepared the post yesterday morning in the mistaken belief that it was Thursday… I could have sworn yours hadn’t posted then. But I am extremely tired so maybe I blinked and missed it. It’s added not, right at the top ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. What’s weird is I read it and commented when I received the notification, but before it was on the blog post. And then there’s Sarah’s story that I swear I found in the comments section of a completely different post, but she didn’t write a story this week…

      2. WP does like to play games. I knew you had commented on mine. That’s why I was surprised it wasn’t there, but I suppose you had already prepared the post. I can’t explain Sarah’s though. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Some great work here, Jane! I love these writing challenges. I’ll definitely be taking part in the next one! (so make sure it’s an equally fantastic prompt ๐Ÿ˜‰ haha!)

Leave a Reply

