Forgotten by the night

On the wall of a street I walk down every day, someone has posted a poem. It begins:

La nuit m’a oubliée

Pourtant…je suis toujours là.

I was thinking about those two lines on the way home and came up with two poems on this theme, a minute poem and a cascade. The Daily Post theme word is: eyes. These poems are about what the eye doesn’t see.

 

Forgotten by the city night,

I hunch from sight

Beneath tagged walls

When darkness falls.

 

The stars so cold with glitter bright

Shed here no light,

Where shadows heap

And homeless sleep.

 

Forgotten even by the night,

Ultimate slight,

I hide in shame,

Forget my name.

 

1280px-A_Realidade_dos_excluídos_do_Capitalismo
Photo © Ruygoli

The darkness has forgotten me,

Yet I have never gone away,

Pressed between dark, eyeless walls.

 

Stars wheel above in endless night,

Their dance steps learnt in distant time,

The darkness has forgotten me.

 

Dark with running damp, this room is,

Garish tags send warning signals,

Yet I have never gone away.

 

Night fills gaps from dusk to sunrise,

I hide from the searching daylight,

Pressed between dark, eyeless walls.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

13 thoughts on “Forgotten by the night”

  1. A poignant tribute to the forgotten and lost.
    “Loneliness and the feeling of being unwanted is the most terrible poverty.” Mother Teresa

      1. I was recently overwhelmed by the sight of many souls begging on the streets of Ottawa. I went as a tourist and left with a sense of sadness. I feel blessed that I have a home.

Leave a Reply

