There is a tide

Cross-La-barque-Dijon

There is a tide in our affairs,

The flood that leads to greater things,

A river rolling to the sea.

 

We live and love with little thought

For reefs and shoals, not caring that

There is a tide in our affairs.

 

We sail our barque and trim our sails,

A gull that soars on snow-white wings,

The flood that leads to greater things.

 

But habit turns to jagged rocks,

Shipwrecked our barque, poured out our love,

A river rolling to the sea.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

17 thoughts on “There is a tide”

      1. I hope I can write one especially for your prompt. πŸ™‚ I did write a piece that had in mind rhythm but then realized that I was off-topic from the one posted. But I will try to come up with one.

  1. You reminded me of some of my favourite Byronic lines –
    “Then the few whose spirits float above the wreck of happiness
    Are driven o’er the shoals of guilt, or ocean of excess:
    The magnet of their course is gone, or only points in vain
    The shore to which their shiver’d sail shall never stretch again.”

Leave a Reply

