Microfiction challenge Who goes there? The entries

I think most of you agreed that the image was distinctly unsettling. The resulting stories reflected that in a whole host of ways: horror, suspense, tragedy, dramatic action, and mystery. Geoff, of course, being the exception… As usual, an abundance of talent and stories spanning a wide range of emotions.

Many thanks for participating, and please look in tomorrow for a new prompt.

 

Michael’s story touches on a subject that is almost a taboo.

Microfiction challenge #11: Who goes there? | Morpethroad

 

Kat’s family saga continues with Hannah trying to settle in. I’m getting a bit worried about what’s going to happen when Helen leaves…

Seasonings – Part 8 | like mercury colliding…

 

Sarah with just the right amount of character detail to keep focused on the story and let the tension carry it.

Who Goes There? – microfiction for Jane Dougherty | fmme writes poems

 

Phylor—something tells me this story is not what it seems, and there’s a nasty comeuppance just waiting to…come up.

JD’s Microfiction Challenge #11 Who goes there?: Boarder in Room 6 – Phylor’s Blog

 

Merril’s story is a study in gothic horror, a drama in miniature .

The Blue Room | Yesterday and today: Merril’s historical musings

 

Geoff with a wicked little piece that reminds me of Roald Dahl

(in)animation #pictureprompt #shortstory | TanGental

 

Freya’s story also has more than a touch of gothic about it. Tragedy more than horror.

A place of safety – Microfiction challenge #11

 

Ken story relates what might well be the last moments in service of a chambermaid.

Who Goes There? | rivrvlogr

 

Leara tackles another not quite so taboo subject as Michael’s, but anyone who has ever had a mother-in-law will empathise.

Mother-In-Law – LearaWrites

 

Kerfe—what is it about laughter that gives it such creepy connotations? Great pictorial story.

Junk Mail Art: Recurrent Dream | method two madness

 

Shaun’s story is an action-filled few minutes of high drama.

The Midnight Raid: A Microfiction – Clockwork Clouds

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

19 thoughts on “Microfiction challenge Who goes there? The entries”

  1. Thanks again for the challenge, Jane, and thanks even more for compiling these works! I take part in a few prompts these days, but I have to say I much prefer how you compile them, with a little introduction to each piece; it always invites me to read every entry, which is surely what these prompts are all about?! Makes the whole thing feel that touch more personal, like a real community working together. Thanks, Jane 🙂

    1. I’m glad that’s how you feel about it, Shaun. It’s the way I feel too. I’ve got to thinking of these ‘challenges’ more as workshops than ‘here’s the theme, get writing’ sort of thing. As long as numbers stay a manageable size I’ll stick to the ‘learning’ format. It’s much more fun 🙂

      1. I think that’s the main issue the other ‘Prompters’ face… sheer numbers! Because a large task, but if your other readers/writers are anything like me, it’s greatly appreciated 🙂

      2. I admire the prompters who manage to find a word or two for each contribution—some of them have dozens of entries. I actually enjoy getting to grips with a piece of prose, with the owner’s permission. Maybe I’ll have a go at editing seriously.

Leave a Reply

