Leaving

For the Secret Keeper’s weekly writing challenge to use these words:

PLACE – SHARP – CHIME – FIRM – PACE

Painting ©Feliks Paszkowski

1110px-Baltyk

With steady pace,

I leave this place

Of harsh stone fields

That nothing yield.

The morning air

Is sharp and fair,

Step firm and bold,

I leave the fold.

Beyond the swell,

A chiming bell

Calls out to me

From ‘cross the sea.

A boat, my boat,

My dreams afloat,

To carry me

To where you be.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

20 thoughts on “Leaving”

      1. Oh how true! I think I would say the same of me (at least, in vain attempt) I do believe poetry to be closely akin to song, and for those of us who are not gifted with the voice, it is a way to nonetheless be lyrical. What a nice way of seeing it, now I feel somehow more complete without having to bemoan my lack of singing ability!

      2. I read somewhere that Wagner claimed to use the human voice as an instrument. Wagner I can live without, but I love Italian opera, and the way the voice fits the music in a way that isn’t quite like a song following the notes. Maybe poetry is that—music with the sound turned off 🙂

      3. Yes I think I knew that also, and whilst not a musician, much to my regret, I can understand perhaps, the theory of how music and language are related, though probably more the language of math and music, and the latter not being a strength of mine I am perplexed at the mystery of how words fit together, I may know how to make them but perhaps I do not know how I make them. The truly advanced wordsmith is one who can make them fit, and knows why they make them fit, it’s a little like Piccasso, he may have been able to draw and paint in many forms including what would be considered abstract, but he always said you can only understand how to paint in abstract if you first know, how to paint realistically. As one who cannot paint realistically I can see how I am limited, but despite that I try, because if we don’t try we simply talk about trying.

      4. It’s all about trying things out. Curiosity. Then if you have the talent too, it’s full steam ahead. I was always too intimidated to paint. Having pored over Van Eycks in a Belgian museum as a nine year old, I knew I’d never even know how to start. We can’t all be renaissance men and women. I’ll stick with words.

      5. Perhaps you could one day try to paint, they say we have five life times in us with each one, so perhaps another era when you are older, will turn to painting. Either way, some of those I have met who loved art, seemed painters in their appreciation I know you’ll understand because we both love art even if we do not ourselves paint.

      6. Maybe I’ll go back to drawing. It’s less daunting than painting. Then add a bit of colour. before you know it, I’ll be painting. Five lifetimes? That should be enough;

      7. See and I find drawing hard but painting with oils a little easier because you can really go in many directions and play around more than my experience of drawing BUT horses for courses, I hear you, I hope you do though, I think it’s lovely when creative people are able to shift perspective and try something they did not believe they could do (often they find they can and they love it). Yep. Five life times. I reckon that’s as close to feline as we’re going to get and it will do!

      8. There are quite enough cats in the world without humanity swelling the numbers! Of my three sisters, two are artists in one form or another. One produces minutely detailed stuff with almost mathematical precision. The other splashes paint and colours, fabrics, textures all over the place. They have both been that way since childhood. I’m somewhere in the middle. On the fence I guess 🙂

      9. Hardly on the fence. More like building fences into the sky I’d say! Well that’s actually a really great story, one who is so controlled, the other very open, and then you, who is both at times. Makes being the middle-child pretty ideal, best of both worlds, insight and frivolity rather than just one perspective. You could be right about the cats 😉

Leave a Reply

