Dead leaves

Painting ©Andrew Stevovich

I shall definitely be using this painting again!

andrew_stevovich_oil_painting_woman_with_autumn_leaves_1994_36-_x_72

Dead leaves dipped in rainbows

cannot revive the turning year,

nor the hip hop,

tick tock

of passing time

that breaks heartbeats into footsteps

taking you away from me

rewind,

hop hip,

tock tick,

and bring you back.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

17 thoughts on “Dead leaves”

      1. Ah, I wondered if that might be lost in translation. It is a bit of tongue in cheek reference to city dwellers who invade the mountains in autumn to appreciate the changing color of the leaves.

      2. Ah, I get it now. We get the same thing here, droves of tourists visiting the vineyards when the leaves turn. Okay, it’s pretty, because autumn leaves are pretty, but at what cost in pesticides?

Leave a Reply

