Microfiction Bronze Ocean II

Part I is here

1024px-fujishima_takeji_-_sunrise_over_the_eastern_sea_-_google_art_project

For half a day he fell, tumbling over and over like a clumsy autumn leaf, until, as the last rays of the sun shot across its smooth burnished surface, he hit the bronze ocean.

Down, down, down he shot into depths so deep his lungs should have burst, instead he felt nothing but the slick, heavy caress of the liquid metal.

He surfaced, breathless but unharmed, floating on the languid bronze swell, and gazed into a checkerboard sky of rainbow colours and flashing lights until a bank of pink mist rolled over him, alive with the hoarse, joyful cry of gulls.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

17 thoughts on “Microfiction Bronze Ocean II”

    1. It’s funny that you should have read this as poetry. It’s meant to be the next part of a three line tale, but I suppose it points up how close prose and poetry are, no rigid barriers. I’m very flattered you thought my prose was poetic enough to work as poetry πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

