Microfiction challenge #13: Woman in the sun

I relented. Today’s prompt was going to be something in keeping with yesterday’s mood—funereal. I’ll keep that for another time. This painting, by Caspar David Friedrich, is a pretty strange one so it will do very nicely for a prompt. Who is this woman in her gown and hairdo that make me think of a fantasy queen? What is she doing? Invoking the sun or some other deity? Grieving for someone, something? Is it dawn or sunset?

1024px-caspar_david_friedrich_-_frau_vor_untergehender_sonne

The theme words are:

Dawn sunset worship magic power regal

Write a short story with your interpretation and post the link in the comments before next Thursday.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

47 thoughts on “Microfiction challenge #13: Woman in the sun”

  1. Pingback: WritersDream9
      1. I’ve had a lot of thoughts on it because I’ve really got into your story and I feel I’ve sent you off on red herrings, against your better judgement. I’ll get something down for you when I get back from the market.

Leave a Reply

