Drunk on diamond rain

Missed Magnetic Saturday, so here are a couple of mysterious offerings for Sunday. If you want to join in the fridge magnet fun, post your poetry on Elusive Trope’s new blog here.

 

screen-shot-2016-09-11-at-18-54-19

Black lake water

heaves languid and luscious,

like rose-red mist,

dreaming in petal-cool light,

drunk on diamond rain.

 

 

You who whisper screen-shot-2016-09-11-at-18-46-55

to the raw beat

of lake water

and sleep beneath

the skin of the sea,

soar through shadow and shine

with the storm wind.

 

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

17 thoughts on “Drunk on diamond rain”

  1. I love “the skin of the sea”. I swim a lot (not in the sea but a pleasant chlorinated pool) and I always feel, when I first get in the water, that I am going through a dividing point, above is air, below water, and there is a layer of water/air that I pierce. Then of course I’m splashing along and now it’s just water, but for that instant…this poem caught that for me with this line.

    1. Swimming is something I’ve never been keen on except in the very shallow, warm and placid waters of the Mediterranean. Water seems so alive to me, the movement like muscles rippling just below the skin…

      1. You know, I thought this over, and I can’t pick a favorite. Each body of water has its own strengths and dictates how I behave in it. I would also add a nice clear lake, to swim in or for boating.

Leave a Reply

