Striking a pose

For the Secret Keeper’s weekly writing prompt. This week’s words are:

CLUE – COURSE – TENDER – THREAT – POSE

Photo©Manfred Werner

koh_phangan_faehre1

You strike a pose leaning on the rail,

As if you are guiding the cruiser’s course,

As if your charisma draws the gulls

That wheel and scream in our creaming wake.

I hide my laughter behind dark shades,

Hide the mocking, dancing light,

For I’d give no clue I’m watching you,

Have you believe you’ve hooked a catch.

You shift your weight, half-turn to see

Whose gaze is teasing the back of your neck.

Your jutting jaw with artful shadow,

Is how you set your tender trap.

Leaning now, your back to the water,

And watching me with a confident smile,

I shrug and take my place beside you,

Let your hand close over mine.

You cannot see, will never know

Could not decode the soft veiled threat,

But in my smile, my glittering eyes,

Is the poison you seek,

The fire you play with,

The gamble you lose.

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

2 thoughts on “Striking a pose”

    1. Thanks Ken, that’s pretty much it. I intended it as two strangers, one observant and knowing, the other blinded by ego—consequence, he is probably about to bite off more than he can chew.

Leave a Reply

