Hanging by a thread

The Daily Post prompt is: fragile.

1024px-red_leaf_in_mid_fall

The year hangs by a golden thread,

Though soft we tread,

The apple falls,

When winter calls.

 

The leaf hangs by a withered stalk,

The plunging hawk

Could tear it free,

With fierce bird glee.

 

My heart hangs by such fragile ties,

Tissues of lies,

I daren’t let go,

Still love you so.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

14 thoughts on “Hanging by a thread”

Leave a Reply

