Humming a tune

For the Secret Keeper’s weekly writing prompt.

This week’s words are:

WIT – HURT – NOTE – HONEST – TEST

I’m afraid I used ‘whit’ instead of ‘wit’. Once it sneaked in, I couldn’t get rid of it.

Photo©Tony Castle

768px-baviera-_munich-_man_walking_el_hombre_que_camina

You cared not a whit for the hurt,

The test is you never looked back,

You walked away humming a tune.

 

Words echo, so many false notes,

The smile on your face was a mask,

You cared not a whit for the hurt.

 

Your lies should have blackened my heart,

You were honest you’d never have left,

The test is you never looked back.

 

In the tree, a bird sings to the sun,

So much sweeter than memories of when

You walked away humming a tune.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

11 thoughts on “Humming a tune”

Leave a Reply

