Ys

1024px-evariste-vital_luminais_-_fuite_de_gradlon

Long ago, the broad world was ringed about by the wild green ocean. It was peopled by men and women, some gifted, some not touched by magic, and it had a name. Beneath the world was darkness, and the darkness was full of mystery, deep caves and sightless creatures. Above the world lived the creators and the Beast they had fashioned to keep their realm safe. But the creators grew weary, or perhaps they died, and before they faded, they flung their Beast from the skies. In the struggle to enchain it with magic, the world was broken, drowned beneath the wild waves, and its name was forgotten. But the Beast remained. Its fury grew. And it forgot nothing.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

23 thoughts on “Ys”

      1. I’m thinking of taking the knife to it, cut it down to 90k and put the rest in the second volume. Behind the brave idea is of course the secret motive that it puts me 30k ahead in the next book 🙂

      2. Sounds like a great idea to me 🙂 So you’ve planned it as a series then, or a trilogy? Is there a natural narrative break at around 90k where you can do this?

      3. I had a rough idea of where the story was going but not how to get there, so I just kept on writing. At about 140k I decided it was already far too long and had gone way beyond a suitable cut off point. The point I chose could just as easily have been earlier with a bit of tinkering. I’ll have to read it all through again and see if there’s a suitable conclusion for at least one part of the story.

      4. Sounds like you had the same approach to your new book as I have to the one I’m currently writing – I know the beginning, the end, a couple of spots in between, but the rest is winging it.
        Do you usually write like this – a sort of mix of plotting and ‘pantsing’ as I’ve seen it called?
        Do you know what the eventual end point is for the series, or are you writing one book at a time?
        Sorry for the pop quiz – do feel free to ignore my questions if I’m being tedious! 🙂

      5. Most stories start like:
        Great first sentence.
        Rough out a story following from great first sentence.
        Vague ending that will probably change as the characters firm up and the plot develops.
        Keep writing
        Jot down brilliant ideas for later as they occur.
        Go back when brilliant ideas occur for plot already written.
        When the idea for a brilliant end takes shape, note it down and bend the plot to work towards it.
        I also go back and forth to make sure it isn’t turning into complete nonsense 🙂

      6. I love that technique – a vague end in sight but keeping the creative process spontaneous and organic, so you’re not confined and the story can drift in unknown directions.
        I wrote my first book with no plan at all and the plot was a mess. Second and third, similarly chaotic, though I think I had an idea of where I was going to be at the end. Then I replotted the first book – much better, though still a bit scrappy. Now on this new one, the process is rather more like your own.
        Perhaps one day I’ll get the hang of plotting 🙂

      7. I think if you write a story following strict ground rules, you risk ending up with a formula. Lots of writers do end up with a formulaic novel, but that could be what they were aiming for. It sells.

      8. It’s a tough balancing act. I’ve never been able to get my head round these guides that advise you every plot has to adhere to an eight point arc – stasis, trigger, quest etc – and whereas I suppose plots often naturally follow that kind of progression, I can’t intentionally write a story that sticks rigidly to that form. I’ve tried mapping plot arcs on a graph to see if there’s the right amount of tension and quiet passages but all I ended up with was lines. Didn’t help at all. Maybe I should learn how to write like that – make my millions 🙂

      9. I think you’re right that a good story has the right ingredients added in the right places, but what those ingredients are, and where is exactly the right place is what makes the story, so the ‘how to’ books are not really much use. The best test is a good beta reader. Not a friend who won’t like to be honest, nor someone who isn’t a very critical reader. Basically, I think a story has to have a point. What it is and how you make it is up to you.

      10. Yes, tough finding people who can read objectively but not too harshly! Especially novels – hundreds of pages to wade through is no light task 🙂

Leave a Reply

