Where salamanders swim

This is the first Wednesday in almost a year that I haven’t posted a poetry challenge. Maybe it’s time to post the very strange image I found, taken from a book entitled ‘The Story of the Sun, the Moon and the Stars’ published in 1898β€”an artist’s impression of a sunspot. There’s no challenge, but if anyone is inspired by this weird image, I’d be interested to read your poem, so feel free to post a link.

881px-the_story_of_the_sun_moon_and_stars_1898_14778865395

On the fiery, frond-waving skin

Of the ardent sun,

Deep caves, red as embers pulse.

Crucible in fusion,

Of molten metals, rippled heat,

Shimmers, silent and sluggish,

Where salamanders swim,

Swishing their sultry tails,

And the world was born.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

32 thoughts on “Where salamanders swim”

    1. Thanks Ali πŸ™‚ I’m sorry if I’ve missed some of your posts. I’ve been away and I’ve been not very well either. I’ll try to catch up, but there’s a mountain of posts I’ve missed!

      1. Dont worry! I’ve missed lots of posts lately. From everyone. Just dont have the time anymore. Hope you went somewhere nice, and that you’re feeling better. Xxx

      2. Went to the new old house to see a man about putting in a couple of wood burning stoves and another man about mending the chimney. And to cut back some of the trees and shrubs that are swamping it. Didn’t want to come back 😦

      3. I bet you didn’t! Those stoves will be lovely and cosy! I have one in my living room. I want to put one in my kitchen, too. Any nearer to moving in?

      4. Number three has found himself a job as a waiter so he should be able to find himself somewhere to live now. Number four is going to apply for a university residence. We just have to sort number five now. It’s getting a bit closer.

Leave a Reply

