Microfiction challenge #17: A satisfied couple

Sorry it’s a bit (a lot) late. We got back later than expected. The title of this week’s image is in German so I could be completely wrong when I translate it roughly as ‘On the way to church’. However, for me, the title fits perfectly. The couple have a such self-satisfied expressions. He could be thinking about something funny a friend said to him in the bar, but she has that particular curl of the lip suggesting, ‘I have really made it’ that, to my eye, makes her instantly antipathetic. But that’s not the only interpretation of the scene. Who are these people walking side by side but not touching? Where are they going on this brisk autumn day and whyโ€”a wedding, to the reading of a will? And what is on the piece of paper? That painting is dated 1935 if that gives you more ideas.

You don’t have quite as long to cogitate this week, but when you have your story, please post the link in the comments, before next Thursday.

1024px-antos_frolka_auf_dem_weg_zur_kirche

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

19 thoughts on “Microfiction challenge #17: A satisfied couple”

  1. Just cheked in to see if you’d posted this yet and a minute later here it is! Super stuff. Will come back with my tale once I’ve considered that self satisfied smile … ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hi Jane. Well, I have probably veered too far away from the artist’s original intent but I enjoyed my meandering and this is the result. I haven’t totally fact-checked everything (It’s not as if I’m Donald Trump and every word I utter needs to be examined) but that is why we call it fiction, right? http://engleson.ca/?page_id=7950

      1. Oh my goodness! Right you are! I am woefully behind…and such a lovely prompt painting too! My partner had surgery last week and I’m afraid I was a bit consumed with preparation for the homecoming and recovery. I have a bit of catching up to do! Though I have missed the micros. This week was a nice detour. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Leave a Reply

