Microfiction: Pretend

For Sonya’s Three Line Tales

The photo©Ben Rosett

tltweek37-1

It was a peaceful place of cool, dappled summer shade, a place for a lonely child to play quietly and think quiet thoughts.

She spent the afternoons swinging to the rhythm of a hummed tune, until at dusk they came to call her home.

She’d turn and smile a sad goodbye to the bandstand and the ranks of empty white chairs that she had built in her head from the rows and rows of white crosses that filled the military cemetery on the hill.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

43 thoughts on “Microfiction: Pretend”

    1. I’m not sure. It seems to depend on who you ask. Some magazines say it’s up to 500 words, others call that flash fiction and have a shorter word count for micro. It doesn’t really matter as long as it’s really short 🙂

  1. a good word for this would be BAM ! There it is. A world in the palm of our imagination conjured and yes, conjured literally, from the mind of Jane. Again, as I said before, don’t know how you do it but you do it very well my talented friend.

      1. I love that! Exactly! Wow. You should write that (how many times I wonder shall I say this and each time it will be true?)

      2. I’m not happy that Dylan gets the Nobel for ‘literature’ to me that’s a slap in the face for every serious hard-working literature writer out there. So I agree.

      3. He’s in the great tradition of the protest movement, and he has written some great protest songs, but literature? I’m not convinced either, but the Nobel committee has its own agenda.

      4. Right? I mean Al Gore? Need we say more? 😉 I agree, in the protest movement not literature. Ah well. Everything is bastardized.

      5. Somebody needed a favour returned. I’m wondering if Dylan isn’t embarrassed about it. He hasn’t made any comment. Or maybe he’ll just bank the cheque and keep on blowin’ in the wind…

      1. Agreed! It helps enormously to see how other people do it, what works and what doesn’t. If you’re up for very short fiction challenges why not look in here later today? I post a picture prompt every Friday.

Leave a Reply

