There is no path

A cascade poem for the Secret Keeper’s weekly prompt. The words to use are

GONE – SENSE – TRACE – VOICE – PATH

ernst_ludwig_kirchner_-_artistin_marzella

Each second gone has slipped into the past,

Your voice still echoes in the lonely room,

There is no path that leads me back to you.

 

There was no sense in striving for the stars,

When we could not see the starlight in our eyes,

Each second gone has slipped into the past.

 

We talked and laughed; our hearts heard not a thing,

We spoke of safe things trying hard to please,

Your voice still echoes in the empty room.

 

The ties that bind were made of slender thread,

No trace they left when cold waves quenched our love,

There is no path that leads me back to you.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

16 thoughts on “There is no path”

  1. The SOUND of this is exquisite! I had to read it aloud three times and every line but especially the last The ties that bind were made of slender thread,

    No trace they left when cold waves quenched our love,

    There is no path that leads me back to you.

    1. It’s the rhythm that does it, which is the point I was making in one of the poetry challenges. Even when we stick to a set number of syllables, if the beat isn’t in the right place it sounds wrong. I like to get the rhythm flowing 🙂

Leave a Reply

