Who do I hold?

Photo ©BLM Nevada

1024px-full_moon_with_clouds_19791001528

What do we see in the night time,

When the stars hide behind the clouds,

And the moon’s a pale memory?

 

Do we talk to shades, to things long dead

And reach for hands no longer there?

What do we see in the night time?

 

Red tempest rages in the sky,

Dying dark with the failing sun,

When the stars hide behind the clouds.

 

Who do I hold when the bed is cold,

For the tide has ebbed you rose for me,

And the moon’s a pale memory.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

5 thoughts on “Who do I hold?”

  1. Jane, for someone who does not put obvious emotion into your work, your work often provokes the most emotion in me of all the poetry I read! (this is a massive compliment). Just breathtakingly lovely this one.

    1. Thank you! I don’t know how to explain it. I just write; the words just come. Sometimes it must seem like absolute drivel. The beauty of language is that sometimes a particular combination unlocks something deep down. I’m glad it did it for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

