Samhain morning

Yesterday evening I came back from a long weekend at the new old house. The rhythm is different there, waking with the light and doing what amounts to field work while the light lasts. There isn’t internet or a wifi connection, the radio is dodgy, and the electrics don’t extend to reading lamps, so it’s firelight and candles until bedtime. No scribbling on the computer, but the thoughts still come and the best ones linger after I get home.

caillou

A dew-damp morning,

birdsong colours the silence,

I hear a leaf fall.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

24 thoughts on “Samhain morning”

      1. I started with 42k words and I’m at 45k now. That’s quite good going for me. I’m hoping it will give me enough motivation to keep at it. Once I really get into the story it should get easier.

      2. so are you editing the original 42k or adding to it? Maintaining momentum is the key I think. I have surprised myself with sticking to it and despite the feelign I am writing shit, not going back and tinkling with it. It is the end of Day 4 here and I have 6907 total : ) Looking forward to 3 days off work next week (while my toddler is in daycare) to give me the feeling (and discipline) of being a full time writer 🙂

      3. Blimey! That’s good going! I can’t write like that. I get niggling doubts a paragraph later and go back and fiddle. At the moment I’m still going through the original text and adding to it as I get back into the story. This is the easy part. When I get to where I left of it’s going to be harder.

      4. Thanks Jane. I guess over the years in my writing courses and words of wisdom I’ve read by writer types- its best not to edit on the first draft but just plough through- that might not be everyone’s cup of tea, but I know that I can get caught up in detail and trying to get something perfect and could easily still be at 200 words if I wanted to get it right. I hope the hard part turns out to not be so hard after all, once you get there. 🙂

        p.s. now on 9021 words. yay! just trying not to think about the day(s) where I go back to edit haha

      5. The editing is the best bit! It’s getting to that finishing line I find hard. That’s why I like to fiddle around with the story as things occur to me. It makes the later stages more interesting.

Leave a Reply

