Moon roses

I shall never know what the oracle would have whispered to me last Saturday, but today she waxed lyrical. This message is to be passed on to the Elusive Trope for his Magnetic Saturday collection of mysticisms.

 

Breathe the sweet forest air,screen-shot-2016-11-05-at-21-36-39

feel the deep cold of night,

see the river of light at dawn,

watch the moon roses

cloud bright lake water

and soft rain fall.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

27 thoughts on “Moon roses”

  1. Cloud bright lake water reminded me of Sunlight on Cold Water by franΓ§oise sagan, a secretly excellent novella (bit light-weight but I really loved it) because it’s that image that STICKS in your mind and haunts you. I felt that here also (a good thing because too many things don’t stick they just float by)

  2. don’t know if it was matter of the word “rise” not being given, but i do like the notion of moon roses being a type of flowers, literally and metaphorically, especially in context of the rest of the poem – an experience that is otherwise seen as maybe dreary or downcast, has a vibrant life cursing through it if one looks at it right.

    1. You followed my line of thinking exactly πŸ™‚ No, I couldn’t find a ‘rise’ so I stuck with ‘rose’ and liked it. I made it plural because you’d need quite a few moon roses to cloud the water. The oracle usually knows what she’s about πŸ™‚

      1. The Christmas roses are growing beneath a tree and from the window I see them through a screen of rose, bay and wistaria. In the gloomy light they shine out like little moons, but beneath the water they would be more ghostly, I agree πŸ™‚

  3. Hi Jane! You are one of the few blog notifications I did get, yesterday. This poem is lovely… I was wondering, do you actually think in poetry??? I bet you do! 😁

    1. I do, in a way. Like when you’re thinking through a knotty bit in a plot, often a phrase will pop up that sounds like a good line, intriguing or luscious in one way or another, so I try to follow it through. I’m glad you liked the oracle’s prompting πŸ™‚ If you posted something yesterday I didn’t get it either. I’ll go check.

Leave a Reply

