Some things I would not ever change

For The Secret Keeper’s writing prompt. The words to include this week are:

PAUSE | OVER | STRENGTH | AGE | CHANGE

Photo ©Teddy Wade

1024px-rays_of_light_4245151906

Some things I would not ever change:

The days we loved, now in the past,

I draw my strength from memories.

 

Walking hand in hand in sunlight,

And in the shade of scented pines,

Some things I would not ever change.

 

Waking in the early morning,

With the heat already rising,

The days we loved now in the past.

 

Pausing on the brink of sorrow,

I wonder was it just our age,

And draw my strength from memories.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

18 thoughts on “Some things I would not ever change”

  1. Dear Jane, I felt incredibly emotional reading this. It is hard to really feel emotional about most modern poetry, occasionally someone will write about surviving abuse, etc, but a poem that opens you up and wets your eyes the way the old-poets could do so effortlessly? That is rare. This did that – I think the echo of the lines especially drove it home but it was also the very idea of our memories being what sustains us, and sorrow, and how we cannot and would not change because then we’d change (everything). I felt it spoke to everyone who say, has loved someone so deeply, either they have fallen out of love or that person has grown away from them or died, and they are sustained by the memory even if imperfect, because the sorrowful recollection is something they cannot change, it remains lovely in that ability never to change. You pick up the entire world in these reflections, I am so moved by this work I am sure at eleven PM tonight I’ll be thinking about it. That’s when you know something is really, really quietly powerful.

    1. It’s maybe sorrow in its very simplest form that gets to the heart. Too much detail kills and complicated ideas. We’ve all suffered loss at some time, a broken relationship, broken dreams. Often just to evoke that loss is ebough. Memory does the rest. I’m glad it got to you 🙂

      1. I honestly thought it was exquisite and that is one of my favorite words I try not to over-use. Yes you are so right, too much detail and you’re wading through it, I make that mistake sometimes but you never do. I also think loss is such a palpable emotion to write on and you did it with a very simple form but it was so so much more by the close.

      2. I did. It definitely wasn’t a simple repetition that went nowhere although I read poems that do that frequently but yours always gets stronger which is the point and you succeed

Leave a Reply

