When all the world is sleeping

913px-munch_moonlight

When all the world is sleeping sound,

I walk the house, where scattered round

Lie pools of moonlight on the ground.

 

When all the stars are shining bright,

In my white shift I walk the night,

I have no need for candlelight.

 

I pace the empty rooms so slow,

Hear echoes fall in midnight’s glow,

But where you went, I’ll never know.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

5 thoughts on “When all the world is sleeping”

  1. You do rhyming quite well. This is indeed a compliment from me as my style lies elsewhere and so I am very judgmental of styles I do not use. Well done. Conceptually, I like the pacing of the pacing.

    1. I don’t use rhyme much either, but I would not judge anyone else for using it, I notice many write Haiku on WP and I have never ever been fond of those forms but again, no purpose in judgement it’s just nasty. The kind of writing I appreciate depends upon the authenticity more than style. I myself may limit myself to styles but when i read someone else it’s their raw authenticity I most appreciate. I have always felt Jane transcends any style, she’s not deliberate when she rhymes – if someone is it feels jarring to me but I have never felt that with her work.

    2. Thank you, Ann. I enjoy rhymes. It probably depends what you want to say, but if songs use rhymes it’s for a reason. They do something the bald statement can’t do on its own. Maybe they just make it more memorable.

Leave a Reply

