Winter branches

Written as a series of #sixwordstory tweets and tweaked into a short poem.

1024px-orange_sunset_clouds_behind_winter_tree_branches

Pale sun casts deep shadows long,

Wind in leaves sings winter’s song.

Roses fall with never a sound,

Petals scatter upon the frozen ground.

Stark branches sway, aflutter with birds,

Whispers the sedge its secret words.

When dawn breaks, chasing sombre night,

Robin sings the winter dark light.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

22 thoughts on “Winter branches”

      1. My voice broken by sore throat
        But fingers move deftly on keyboard.

        — Huh, another six word couplet. Today must be my day.
        Down with sore throat for last few days.

    1. You’re right that for a poem that sounds much better. All the lines are six words long because they were each a six word story. But since I tweaked them to get a poem and a rhyme, there’s no reason why I had to stick with six words, so yes, I’ll probably change it to what you suggest πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

