Time out of mind

For the Secret Keeper’s weekly writing challenge

This week’s words are

GUARD | STRANGE | RIVER | LAND | MIND

csontvary_kosztka_tivadar_-_hidon_atvnulo_tarsasag_1901_korul

Time out of mind the river’s flowed

Beneath the bridge, where we would stand,

Watching the boats sail to the sea.

 

Lovers ’fore us had promised here,

To be as constant as the flood,

Time out of mind the river’s flowed.

 

Box sprigs tied with ribbon bright,

Dropped in the current danced and sped

Beneath the bridge where we would stand.

 

A strange far land is where you went,

Your secret you did guard it well,

Watching the boats sail to the sea.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

7 thoughts on “Time out of mind”

  1. I like how secrets are brought out in your closing poetic lines. I enjoyed this with the sprigs (I visualize younger people with them in their hair, clover blossoms or Daisy chains. . .) Smiles, Robin

    1. Thanks, Robin. I read that box is for constancy so I invented a ritual of sending box twigs bound together out in the river current. It’s a pretty idea. Like so many pretty ideas, it doesn’t hold much weight with the one who decides to break away.

Leave a Reply

