Microfiction challenge #26: A journey

Back to one of my favourite illustrators for this week’s challengeโ€”John Bauer. It carries on the fairy/folk tale theme that opens up so many possibilities for letting out our inner child. Who are the children on the white horse? Who is leading them and why? Are they searching for something or escaping? Tell me a story to fit John Bauer’s magical illustration and post the link in the comments before next Thursday. As I mentioned before, internet access is a bit iffy at the moment so expect glitches.

996px-john_bauer-ha%cc%88sten_ledde_han_vid_betslet

 

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

68 thoughts on “Microfiction challenge #26: A journey”

      1. Yes. I found him when I was writing a thesis on fairy-tale art many years ago and saw all the Russian works first, then leading to Rackham (sp?) and eventually him, plus if memory serves he did some work on a hans christian anderson thing

  1. I am really enjoying these illustrations. They remind me of some in books that I believe I still own somewhere…from a series of Color Fairy Tales. I have an idea… So I’ll be back, hopefully sometime today.

      1. I am hoping the books I referenced are just packed somewhere… but I did find
        http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1508135.Faeries – and the cover illustration and the first two tag lines on the back cover: “Faeries – legends about them abound throughout the worlds. They are evil creatures conjured up to frighten children….(or) Well reminds me of what you say, though this paperback the cover is the only illustration.

      2. Modern children’s stories seem so sugary in comparison. As if children can’t take fear and a bit of excitement. I followed your link and tried to find Pipkin the Elf. It’s on goodreads but without the cover illustration, but there are google images. It was fun seeing them again.

      1. Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ It was going swimmingly until I got to the point where Joris decided to break the curse and I couldn’t think of how the hell he would do it without bloodshed.

  2. I only just found this, Jane; my machine ate the prompt so I’m probably out of time. I did wonder what the horse was thinking though. Grimly bearing all these sprites as usual. Who’d be a horse in a fairy tale?

Leave a Reply

