Birthday: Two

Photo©Roger MacLachlann

view_across_gruinard_bay_-_geograph-org-uk_-_331429

Faster than snowflakes, the short days fly,

As the darkest time of the year draws near,

While stars glitter coldly in the endless night.

 

Ice cracks and splinters under the stars,

Cold glitter falling where the black sea heaves,

Faster than snowflakes the short days fly.

 

Huddled and silent we wait for the dawn,

That breaks like the waves on the moon-bright strand,

As the darkest time of the year draws near

 

This day marks a year less to hold you close

So you wrap me round with the pulse of your heart

While stars glitter coldly in the endless night.

 

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

10 thoughts on “Birthday: Two”

  1. *So you wrap me round with the pulse of your heart*
    Good grief, a year older and she’s already burning the sun just to say goodbye!
    I love this.
    And it gives me a second chance to wish you a most wonderful birthday my lovely friend. Thank you for you.

Leave a Reply

