Written in the river

For the Secret Keeper’s writing prompt. The words this week:

REFLECT | WRITE | SPEAK | SMILE | WARM

Painting ©JF Milan

721px-la_cascade_bleue

In the rushing river write

The words reflected in your smile,

The song I wrote for you and me.

 

Beneath the warm sun of my dreams,

I hold my breath, too full to speak and

In the rushing river write.

 

Green cords that twist and pluck a song,

They ravel up the tender notes,

The words reflected in your smile.

 

Plucked by the rushing river, tossed

Into the wind blown out to sea,

The song I wrote for you and me.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

7 thoughts on “Written in the river”

    1. It’s called a cascade. I love it too. It can be as long as you like. You just have to add lines to the first stanza, so each subsequent stanza has a line to use as a refrain at the end if you see what I mean.

Leave a Reply

