Flash Fiction: Moon

This 144 word story is for the FFfAW challenge inspired by the photo below ©Maria@Doodles and Scribbles

photo-20161212155025335

Dark night, an uneasy, troubled silence fell. As ever, since…

She peered down the slick, asphalted street where no footsteps echoed, no cats stalked the shadows, at the light, round and bright that hung low above the last wall before the outside. There was nothing in her world like it. Moon was a word she knew but the thick blackness that encased the world meant she had never seen it. Even the sun, once so bright, they said, was pale and dim. So far away.

The light beckoned. She so wanted it to be the moon. She left the house, crept like the vermin close to the boundary wall, following the thick silver beams. At the perimeter she stopped, frozen in the brilliance of the not-moon, as a searchlight, picked her out. Rifle burst ripped up the silence a fraction before the bullets hit.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

33 thoughts on “Flash Fiction: Moon”

  1. A stupendous write, the mystical feel of what she thought and what was. The explosive conclusion to her wonder and awe sucked me in, pressed against the boundry alongside… where I felt the thud of the bullets.

      1. i fear strange is a description i have had leveled at me before. I am a devil for a challenge though, give me a fun prompt and I will sour it, give me a haunted house and I will cover it in fairy dust and sunshine. x

    1. There has to be in the sense that it has to be a perceived experience if only at second hand. In any case, however nasty a scenario we imagine, it’s almost certainly really happened to somebody somewhere.

  2. This reminds me of standing looking across the berlin wall at night, on the west side where i was most homes had light showing, on the other side of the wall it was almost totally black. Then a night squadron of midges struck me.

Leave a Reply

