The sky is grey

In the wintry winds that blow,

Round and round the starlings go,

The sky is grey and full of snow.

 

Winter ravels up the weave,

With hoar frost binds up all the leaves,

The sky is grey and summer grieves.

 

Frost bites hard, the year is done,

Long winter days are just begun,

The sky is grey without the sun.

 

And through the branches, sorrows sigh

For all the bright stars bound to die,

Cold the world and grey the sky.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

8 thoughts on “The sky is grey”

    1. I’ve been feeling bleak. The Christmas muscle-pulling syndrome has started early this year, the weather is too cold for me, I’m having big doubts about why I bother writing and I have Christmas to get through. Morale’s not good.

      1. You bother writing because you want to write–even if it’s bleak. And all of us who read what you write, appreciate it. And we appreciate the challenges you do, too. I’ve learned so much, and I thank you.
        As for the cold, I’m not enjoying that either, and my morale plummets every time I read about the new bit of craziness in the world. But still, there is beauty and love and poetry.
        Sorry–you know all this, but I just wanted to let you know you’re appreciated. Grab some wine and chocolate and huddle under the blankets now. 🙂

      2. Sorry to inflict my misery on you, Merril. It’s the cold that gets to me, makes me depressed. I have a strange auto-immune condition that involves chronic anemia and slight depression and it gets worse when the temperature drops.
        Writing is something I can’t help doing, but I do wonder why I persist when I ought to be doing something that earns money. It was a dream that I might earn just a little bit to contribute to the budget, but unless you count 15$ a year ‘something’, I’m not. Oh well, once the good weather comes back, I’ll no doubt feel differently about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

