Microfiction challenge Rescue: the entries

The illustration by Virginia Frances Sterret produced another fine haul of stories, mainly fairy stories of course, and what better for this time of the year when all sensible people just want to stay indoors by the fire and listen to a good story.

Thanks to all of you for participating. It has been great fun. I’m going to take a break from this for a while so there won’t be a new prompt tomorrow. Maybe later when things in general improve, I’ll start the challenge up again.

WordPress has gone funny again and I can’t track notifications or comments so if I don’t reply to a comment you might have left, please accept my apologies. It’s because I haven’t seen it.

Thanks again, and a happy new year to everyone.

Lorraine

JD’s Microfiction Challenge, Rescue: “She is a fickle creature” – Lorraine’s frilly freudian slip

Ann

Microfiction Challenge: The Innocent – Ann WJ White

Ken

Fawning Attention | rivrvlogr

Di

Microfiction challenge #27: Rescue | pensitivity101

Reena

Sita and Mareech – REINVENTIONS BY REENA

Michael

Microfiction challenge #27: Rescue | Morpethroad

Neel

neelwrites/fiction/shortstory/rescue/18/12/2016 | neelwritesblog

Ellen

https://ellenbest24.wordpress.com/2016/12/19/hunger/

Bill (I think the ghost space has been exorcised)

http://engleson.ca/?page_id=8266

Kerfe

https://methodtwomadness.wordpress.com/2016/12/21/the-answer-is-yes/

https://methodtwomadness.wordpress.com/2016/12/22/but-keep-in-mind/

Merril

Light in the Darkness (The Rescue): Microfiction | Yesterday and today: Merril’s historical musings

Jules

(f) MC27-Rescue Little Red Captivates a the Duke’s Youngest Colleen (12.21) | Jules in Flashy Fiction

Kat

Star Light, Star Bright… | like mercury colliding…

My own

https://janedougherty.wordpress.com/2016/12/22/microfiction-the-hunting-of-the-white-hind/

and a late entry from Hayley—for once I got the round up posted in good time.

https://thestoryfiles.wordpress.com/2016/12/22/the-visitors/

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

14 thoughts on “Microfiction challenge Rescue: the entries”

  1. Another wonderful group of stories, Jane! Thank you for doing these challenges. I’ve learned so much. I hope the break rejuvenates you, and you do return to do more challenges when you are feeling up to it.
    (And I hope the WP gremlins stop their mischief.) 🙂

    1. I’ll need a break after the break but it will all sort itself out with the spring, I’m sure. As for WP it seems to have reformatted all the notifications. It used to be so straightforward to see a comment and reply to it. Now it’s a big adventure!

  2. Enjoy your time off. I know it’s necessary. But I too hope your challenges return. In the meantime I have a folder full of the ones I missed to contemplate.
    I’ve also been having a lot of trouble with WordPress.
    Happy New Year! And thanks for all the inspiration. (K)

    1. I’m completely washed out and my neck hurts 😦 I’m sure I’ll feel better about things after the so-called holidays.
      WordPress is being a right royal pain. There seems to be no place where all the notifications are visible so I know who’s commented on what.

  3. Thank you for having done these challenges. I do hope some time off (and away from extra wordpress issues) helps with headaches and other things.
    Come back to the challenges when and if you feel ready — we can wait.
    Wishing you all the best of this festive season and a bright and brilliant 2017. May the new year be a better one in this poor old word for all our railing and action against the way it was turning.
    And, thank you for introducing me to artists I have developed a great affinity for.

    1. I’m so pleased to have brought such a great bunch of people together. I’ll be back with writing and poetry and I hope, challenges just as soon as I feel up to it. Maybe WP will have sorted itself out by then too.

  4. Jane, it’s been a delight to meet you. Rest up and have a lovely new year. Whatever you do, don’t let 2016 extend itself. 2017 will be enough of a challenge. I really enjoy reading your posts, and I’m on to the books now. Happy New Year.

  5. Waiting for sunset on Christmas Eve is like standing toes-over-the-edge on a high diving board.
    Every year we’d cruise casually by the window to keep an eye on the sun’s progress until it was officially evening.
    Then the shout “Christmas Eve Gift!” would ring out.
    You see, the traditions says that the first person to voice that phrase on Christmas Eve to another would be graced with good fortune and joy all the next year.
    (And of course, whomever was first won. Everything was a contest…)
    It’s more difficult to be first now with caller ID.
    As all those who have become my friends in blogland are spread widely across time zones, I’d like to wish you all “Christmas Eve Gift” now.
    And as I already feel so fortunate to have such wonderful readers and writers in this neighborhood, I wish to share any phrase acquired good fortune and joy with you in thanks.
    No matter where you are or what you are guided by, hope you have a very merry Christmas and a new year full of adventure and joy.
    Peace on earth and goodwill towards all creatures great and small.

  6. I missed this in our festive wanderings in a land without wifi, but with lots of people and glasses of wine and FOOD!!! Thank you so much for your prompts over the last few months. I have really enjoyed them. I hope you come back full of vim and vigour and inspiration.

    1. I enjoyed doing it. When the weather gets warmer I might start it up again, but for the moment I’m in hibernation mode. Can’t stand the cold. It makes me depressed as well as ill. At least we should only have another few weeks of it, says she hopefully.

Leave a Reply

