Microfiction Three Line Tales: Shades of Banquo

For Sonya’s Three Line Tales. Miserable, I know. Sorry about that.

Photo©Jennifer Pallian via Unsplash

tltweek47

Christmas Eve and the house is full of light spilling out onto the street, so inviting, even to someone who left slamming the door two months before.

I didn’t phone ahead, Christmas Eve, of course I’d be home, there was no need; I have a key, I can let myself in.

They are there, parents, sister, brother, finishing decorating the tree, having the first glass of wine, and on the table, the traditional stolen that we have every year when the tree is decorated is waiting, already cut—only four slices.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

27 thoughts on “Microfiction Three Line Tales: Shades of Banquo”

    1. Not exactly unwelcome, but they come with expectations of good behaviour, helpfulness, generosity, the sort of adult savoir vivre. If they can’t manage that then I suggest they go mix with their own kind 🙂

Leave a Reply

