Film recommendation

As our Christmas day dribbled away, a film was called for. Son suggested Mad Max: Fury Road. It might seem like a strange choice for the season of Disney and Rogers and Hammerstein, but it looked good to me. And I thoroughly enjoyed it. The plot is simple and straightforward. As son pointed out, even I would have no trouble following it. The visuals are tremendous, the action non-stop, and the scenario is so wildly over the top, the characters so wildly over the top, and the violence so absolutely wildly over the top it’s a really fun film. It has an ethical dimension to it that I enjoyed, and the role of the many women, given that it’s a sort of punk-style post-apocalyptic western, has feminist credibility which I would never give to your average scantily clad warrior woman with big gazongas trope.

mad_max_fury_road

If you like post-apocalyptic this one seems pretty credible to me. The references to Valhalla, the desert scenery, the boys playing at war with their bikes, guns and mad cars, the deformities and the sheer lunacy of most of humanity are images and metaphors that are dear to my heart. I you haven’t seen it; I recommend it.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

7 thoughts on “Film recommendation”

Leave a Reply

