I will be

This morning I wrote a letter I will not send. Nor will I post it here. My cares are my own and need worry no one else. I will post a short poem from the heart instead.

 

I will be the hare on the mountain,

the dove in the tree,

and I will share my days with you.

I will have around me quiet and peace,

embroidered with birdsong

and the nights spangled

with all the stars of the firmament.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

18 thoughts on “I will be”

    1. We have just had the first Christmas that was thoroughly unpleasant in every way. None of it was as we would have wanted it, or as we have traditionally had it. All it needed was for me, for once, to take a back seat, and the spirit of it was lost.

  1. Many letters written and never sent nor intended to be … in some small way it is cathartic. I hope it has been for you. Christmas is like a booby trap waiting to hijack all our best intentions, our dreams, our attempts to be decent. Your poem is exquisite and speaks to my heart. I have printed it and put it in my handbag x

  2. I always dread Christmas, but in twenty five years of it this is the first time it has gone badly wrong. My fault for not firing on all cylinders. The neck muscle sprain putting paid to much of what I would usually have done. Writing to offending offspring was cathartic even if I never slap them in the face with it. I’m glad you like the poem, written in a moment of dog walking lucidity.

  3. So sorry your Christmas was so horrible, Jane. I’m glad you got a moment of dog-walking lucidity (and well, moments of dog, in general) πŸ™‚
    This is a beautiful poem. I think you should have it hanging on your wall. I especially love the last four lines.

    1. What’s sad is that one internal friction (sibling rivalry if you like) was enough to destroy everything. In novels and TV series the family is something that works together as a unit. This one needs an iron fist or there’s anarchy. This year I just didn’t have the energy.

      1. It was time that they all celebrate in their own ways with people they want to be with. Christmas has no meaning for me so I won’t be sad to let it go. We’ll continue to have a special day for the youngest as long as she wants but no more family gatherings of people who would rather be elsewhere.

      2. Once I came to live in France it wasn’t possible to go ‘home’ for Christmas and we always celebrated it on our own, then with the children. Any traditions are of our own making and can easily be adapted to children spending the day with their own partners and calling in on us if they feel like it.

Leave a Reply

