Gulls, sunshine, and daisies

I took some photos three days ago when the sun came out but my phone still hasn’t coughed them up so I think we can assume I’m not going to get them. Here are the short poems written for the pictures.

 

No snow in this tepid clime

where grass stretches livid green the winter long,

basking in the diamond-scattered light,

prismed and damp, of rain drops.

Wind blows cold,

tossing gulls, grey as fog

and strident as a traffic jam,

from wave to wave

of the restless river.

 

Grass glitters in the winter sun,

and daisies raise white frilled heads

in a field of diamonds.

Suddenly the sky is full of gulls,

and the air rings with their laughter.

 

Supple as silk,

colour of winter clouds,

gulls hang on the breeze from the sea,

blinking at snowflakes,

snapping at tossed scraps.

 

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

10 thoughts on “Gulls, sunshine, and daisies”

  1. Sorry about the photos, but you’ve conjured up images with your words. I especially like the gulls in all of them. When I’m at the beach, I always like to watch them. 🙂

      1. Some varieties have a worse reputation than others. The herring gulls in the UK can be pretty nasty. The gulls that live almost all year round in towns have the same habits as crows but their aerodynamics are better 🙂

Leave a Reply

