I tossed a stone into green water

I tossed a stone into green water,

watched it sink and settle

where silver-scaled fish

sing their silent sea songs,

while the world sleeps.

 

You sit beside me,

follow the flight of the gulls

into the blue,

and all the while,

your fingers search for mine

to entwine our hearts

in a feather tight,

deep as night

embrace.

 

Cloud passes

across the blue,

drawing white horses

behind the soaring gulls,

and beyond them

the stars are dancing

with eternity

in their glittering measures.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

14 thoughts on “I tossed a stone into green water”

      1. It’s supposed to get warmer here, but I think it’s going to be rainy. It just makes me want to stay in bed. I had to look up Imbolc. I hope you get it before then. 🙂

  1. I thought this poem was hopeful too Jane, loved your images of the sea. Best wishes for 2017. I finally caught up with the fact you are not making any microfiction for a while. I did enjoy them and hope you can get them going again some time. But I understand we need a break from things from time to time. So Happy New Year…

    1. Happy New year to you too, Michael. I haven’t been either well or optimistic lately and it’s made everything very difficult. All I need is for some big agent to say, wow! this is one we have to sign, and everything will be fine again 🙂

      1. That’s lovely of you to say so, Michael. I think the problem is I don’t write the right stuff in the right style. Nothing I can do about it except wait until it comes back into fashion, I suppose. They’re going to get tired of monosyllabic teenagers one day 🙂

Leave a Reply

