Last publicity before the little white dot

On this last day of the year, as well as wishing you all the best for the next one, I’d like to thank everyone who has visited or followed this blog, and liked, commented on and encouraged the poetry and prose posts. Writing is a pleasure and I wouldn’t do anything else, but trying to convince others to invest their time and money in one’s writing is a loathsome exercise. Anything that makes a body feel more like a creep is hard to imagine.

Having said that, if we don’t advertise ourselves, we might have the self-righteous satisfaction of the pure and unsullied, but we won’t make it as an author. So, I’m going to squirm and wriggle and remind people that I have written quite a few books and if you like what you’ve read on this blog you might like the novels too.

Don’t waste your time this evening, go over to Wild Geese Books and see what’s on offer. There are even free stories to get you hooked.

 

Flying geese.

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

39 thoughts on “Last publicity before the little white dot”

  1. I didn’t realize you had published so many books — thanks for squirming your way through telling us! They look really interesting too; I’m on vacation with family now but have put them on my wish list for later. Happy new year!

      1. Thanks Jane – let’s hope I can push on and get it finished. Loving writing it, so I don’t think that will be a problem. Looking forward to reading good news for you – publishing deal / agent / blockbuster movie deal … I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you:)

      2. Thanks Lynn πŸ™‚ If this latest one fails to please I’ll have to fall back on the one with the transgender dwarf who leads an army of kick-ass women warriors to free the ship of refugees, one of whom is the dwarf’s undecided girl/boyfriend, captured by aliens and…

  2. Hi Jane, tell me which one of your books is your favorite and I’ll read it next and, I did really like Abomination and I could do the next one but I thought I’d see what you might say first. I do so value your presence in my life.

    1. What a wonderful way to start 2017! You’ve just made me feel that I count for something. The Green Woman series was the first one I wrote and it says what I wanted it to say, my ideas about tolerance and utopia, saving the planet, equal rights etc. I let rip with the utopia theme in the second volume of the Pathfinders and got to love some of the characters. I leave it to you, but I can give you a copy of The Dark Citadel since it’s self-published. I can’t give away copies of Devastation. I really write about the same kind of thing over and over πŸ™‚

      1. Certainly you count. Never think you don’t. I am going to go with the Green Woman #1, purchased it from Amazon already, thank you for your offer but I hope this year to seek out works by and support more authors like you, both in what you write about, that I have “met” one way or another, and being grassroots (which I think is a good thing). Your message is one I need to hear right now. Anyway. Happy 2017 and here is to writing and more writing.

      2. On the health front, 2016 ended badly and 2017 has started badly, but your words have just painted a little sunshine into the picture. Thanks for reminding me that the praise if people like you is what it’s all about πŸ™‚ Have a very happy year!

    1. Happy New year to you too, Sarah. 2016 was a great year for ‘meeting’ new people and making new friends. I hope we stay in touch through 2017 and maybe get back into the mutual writing effort too πŸ™‚

  3. You should be proud to promote yourself, Jane. Your writing is wonderful, anyone who tries one of your books will love it. There is so much trad crap out there, it really bugs me when a fab Indie writer remains undiscovered.

    1. Maybe because there’s so much indie shite out there too. I don’t know anymore. Thanks for the encouragement, Ali. You don’t know how much I need it at the moment. When I read what sells, I realise I’m so far off home base that there’s not much point trying. But we do, don’t we, persist with it. One day, maybe.

Leave a Reply

