Leaves curl

When I read Merril’s poem, Stardust, I thought this is the kind of poem I would have enjoyed writing. It’s a Quadrille, a new one on me. It has to be exactly 44 words, and the theme word to be included in this particular challenge is ‘curl’.

You can find the dVerse challenge here and read lots more quadrilles.

Photo©Agnes Monkelbaan

1024px-nationaal_park_weerribben-wieden-_locatie_weerribben-_rijp_op_eikenbladeren

Leaves curl,

bitten with frost,

white furred and crisp with silence,

oak orange,

rimmed with silver

against a sea of pearl,

where ghost gulls soar,

cackling like ice cracking in the far north,

and I wonder at so much beauty

beating within the cold.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

28 thoughts on “Leaves curl”

      1. I think it’s because it has been so mild, the trees haven’t dropped all their leaves, and some idiots (like me) hadn’t even brought the indoor plants inside. So there was lots of greenery for the frost to get hold of.

  1. They are indeed beautiful ~ As I live in Canada, I can apprecite that cold beauty like a sea of pearl ~ Nice to meet you and welcome to D’verse ~ We have the Quadrille challenge, every other Monday ~

    1. It’s rare that this kind of cold beauty is produced here so I was astonished by it yesterday morning. The birds looked a bit taken aback though 🙂 I’ll be writing more quadrilles, I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

