Microfiction: Storyteller

Taking a break to get my breath back after discovering that I accidentally deleted the work I did yesterday on my WIP. It had been a particularly tricky section and it had all gone. I’ve roughed it in from memory but I’ve lost some of the ideas. Oh well, maybe I found a few new ones in the process.

This is for Sacha Black’s new writing challenge: a 52 word story including the phrase ‘the timer started.’

scheherazade_by_l-_bakst_01

The first evening, she was trembling with fear. He lay on the couch watching her, popping bright-coloured sweet things into his mouth, with his trim beard that didn’t hide his second chin, his dark, expressionless eyes. She had to entertain this spoilt, cruel pasha or he would kill her. The timer started.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

9 thoughts on “Microfiction: Storyteller”

      1. You know what happens next, she spends the next three years telling stories to this fat oaf and the reward, for being such an exceptional, talented woman is, she won’t have her head chopped off after all, she’ll marry the fat oaf. Big bloody deal!

    1. It was like a bad dream. The text was as I’d left it two days before with a mixed up scene that I’d completely reworked. All to work out again. That’ll teach me to stop working while I’m still more or less awake.

Leave a Reply

