Microfiction #Three Line Tales: Gone

I’m on a distinctly morbid streak at present. This nasty little piece is for Sonya’s Three Line Tales prompt.

photo by Andrew Neel via Unsplash

tltweek49

“No, you can’t go play by the stream on your own and you know why,” their mother said emphatically. “It’s not safe.”

The two little girls played up in their room in a desultory fashion all afternoon as the sun shifted from one window to the other, and when it finally departed altogether, they opened the east window and let in their friend.

When their mother called them down to supper, only the wind answered, playing with the explorers’ banner they would never use.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

41 thoughts on “Microfiction #Three Line Tales: Gone”

  1. Creepy little story! I didn’t necessarily think the children were evil or creepy though–I thought they may have been duped by their friend. (For some reason, I read it as “new” friend, which perhaps makes it different.)

    1. Ah, so you see the wind as the culprit? Interesting. I always leave these mysteries unresolved because I don’t have the right kind of mind to do it myself. The wind might be the answer.

Leave a Reply

